Going for gold at Sherborne Museum

Our latest work experience student, Lewis, shares positive thoughts about his year volunteering with us as he leaves Sherborne School.

DSCF4675

Over the past year, I have volunteered and helped out in Sherborne Museum as part of my Duke of Edinburgh Gold Award. I have found this experience both educational and rewarding and have thoroughly enjoyed my time helping out one morning a week. Over the course of the year, I have been involved in front of house work where I have spoken with and greeted visitors; helped go through old archaeology from the town and surrounding local villages and even put together a smoking exhibition which remains on view in the museum today! What I found most fascinating was going through old pottery from a local pottery workshop in Sherborne which was collected during a Sherborne School dig. This was because, being a boy at Sherborne School myself, it meant that it was easier to relate to and be interested in. The atmosphere of the volunteers and stewards working together in the museum has been very positive and I have enjoyed being a small member of the team.

The museum is home to a diverse range of interesting artefacts and I would encourage anyone who hasn’t visited the museum to do so and enjoy what can only be described as a fantastic collection. Finally, I would like to thank Elisabeth and her fantastic team of volunteers for having me over the last year on what has been an enjoyable experience.

Leave a Reply

